Psalm 139:16 says “You saw me before I was born,  every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out, before a single day had passed.”

As I reflect on the last 12 years of my life, I have nothing but delight for the child that the Lord gave to me. I had no idea how to be a mother. I didn’t even feel ready to be a mother. I was a teenager then. Trying to embrace what my life was going to be about. God never gave me more than I can bear. Each trial was meant to teach me something, although I may not have realized it at the time.

On the night of March 31, 1999, I packed my bag for the hospital and got ready to go have my baby the next morning. I was being induced. I did what I could to prepare myself, but I had no idea what was about to happen. (I mean I did but not REALLY!)

April 1, 1999 at 5:03 pm marked the day that my life changed forever for the better. Brock Jackson was born that evening and I was overwhelmed with the feelings of joy, shock, fear, and amazement all at the same time. I could not believe what God had given me.  I could not believe he was mine. I am so grateful to my parents and to all the people who helped me through those times.

Much time has passed and the days and years are now blurs between sweet memories. I have tried to cherish every last minute. Because his baby pictures are not digital, I have to start at 4 years old…

Where did the time go? He was on his 5th birthday, then today he’s on his 12th!

Some of these photos are so old! But our digital photos go back only to about 2003. Brock’s about 4 in this picture. (i think)

Around 6 years old

 

 

Around 7 1/2 at Jake’s first birthday

 

About 8 on vacation

 

He was 8 when we got our dog Angel

9 years old at a Medieval Times field trip. I had really red eyes in this picture!

He was 10 years old when he first played his favorite sport- tackle football

At 11 years old, he entered 6th grade, we started homeschooling,  he likes to play soccer, basketball, football, rugby, inline skate, and karate. Pizza, spaghetti, and broccoli are his favorite foods, and watching any sports game on TV is his favorite activity. Brock is very sweet and loves his family although he can be a typical ‘older brother’ sometimes. He gives lots of hugs to his momma and likes to wrestle with his Dad and play trampoline games with his brothers.

 

11 years old in his second year of tackle football. It was cut short due to a knee injury where he ended up in a full leg cast.

At 12 he is getting taller and taller every day! We are so proud of the young man that he is becoming and hope to have many more precious birthdays with him before he is grown and off to college.

Happy Birthday Brock!

 

