I’ve recently been reminded of a very  profound truth about being a parent. You see, it gets pretty tough for a young mom these days. She’s expected to keep up with the world’s standards as far as child-rearing, housekeeping, cooking, baking, crafting, working on her career, educating her children, expanding her mind, exercising her body, styling her hair, keeping her wardrobe trendy, pursuing her hobbies, and keeping her husband satisfied, fed, and respectable to go along with it. (Did I miss anything?)

We’re tempted to fall into the ‘I-can-do-it-all’ like Martha and Oprah since they are the examples of what young successful women aspire to. It’s expected that you be these things and if not, you just don’t measure up.

In my pursuit of being the perfect mother, the Lord has reminded me that only he is the perfect parent. I can only do those things that he has called me to. He knows my heart and what I can handle. He knows I will fail and he knows my children will fail, just like HIS children fail. When I am caught up in believing that if I just follow the perfect parent formula in the next parenting magazine, I will have three little perfect angels, he gently reminds me of his truth and his grace.

When we are down and think we have failed as a parent because of our children’s choices, God says, it’s ok because I AM the perfect parent and you, my child, still choose to go your own way.

Our children have choices and so do we. When we choose to disobey God, it’s just like our children choosing to disobey us. God still lovingly and consistently cares and guides us, but always disciplines us so we can learn from our mistakes. On the other hand, he graciously rewards us for our faithfulness and obedience.

Thank you Lord for being willing to give me a new start everyday. Just like I should give grace and renew my start with my children, every day.

Proverbs 31 gives us a good glimpse into what we should look like as a modern day woman. The proverbs woman fears the Lord and this is the most attractive thing about her. She is crafty, smart, disciplined, and diligent, but it is clear that she works for the Lord, not for man.

Proverbs:”28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.”

Take time to do your ‘work’ whether it’s outside the home or not, for the Lord, not for man. It is your expression of thanks to God.

2 Corinthians 9:12
This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of the Lord’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God.

 

