I got the inspiration for this pie in a magazine, but I have grown up eating southern icebox pie. It was a staple dessert at a summer barbeque or actually just because we felt like having pie! I think I prefer pie over any other dessert. One year for my 13th birthday I asked for chocolate pie instead of cake. My sweet Aunt Haney used to live across the street from us when I was in about 7th-11th grade. She makes the best homemade chocolate pies and that afternoon she came over and had made two. I asked her if I had to share the other one and she said no they were both for me. I smiled and said ok.

Now this pie is one I  made for a friend that helped take care of me while I was ill and when you have young children and are ill, it ain’t pretty! It was also supposed to only be lemon, but when I realized I only had 1/2 the lemon juice it called for, I panicked. Then realized I had lime juice, then got creative and substituted the rest for lime. Turned out mouth watering and the ingredients are different enough so I can call it my own. Don’t you love that? Mine was not in a homemade crust this time but that’s what I’d recommend for a true southern mouth watering experience:

If you don’t have a 9-inch deep dish, you can use a regular 10-inch pie plate instead. Prepare recipe, without whipped cream, up to 2 days ahead.

1 Cup Graham cracker crumbs

4 tablespoons powdered sugar

3 tablespoons butter, melted

6 egg yolks

2 (14 oz ) cans sweetened condensed milk

1/2 cup fresh lemon juice

1/2 fresh lime juice

1 cup whipping cream

2 tablespoons powdered sugar

Garnish: sliced lemons and limes if you desire

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Stir together first two ingredients; add butter stirring until blended.  Press mixture on bottom and sides of 9-inch deep-dish pie plate.  Bake 10 minutes. Let cool completely on wire rack (about 30 minutes).

2. Wisk together egg yolks, sweetened condensed milk, lemon and lime juice. Pour into prepared crust.

3. Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Let cool completely on wire rack (about 30 minutes). Then cover and chill 4 hours.

4. Beat whipping cream at high speed with electric mixer until foamy; then gradually add powdered sugar until soft peaks form; then dollop over chilled pie. Garnish if desired. Serve immediately. ( I would personally put that pie back in the fridge until you are ready to slice or your whip will be runny. You may want to do your whip then set aside in a bowl in the fridge with your pie. when ready to serve, dollop and garnish your whip cream right then; then it won’t be runny like mine was trying to do!)

Since I baked in a shallow store bought ready made crust to take to my friend, I had some filling left over to make myself a little taste:

