The first day of school is right around the corner. But not for us! Yes, I have not shopped for one school supply or one pair of back to school shoes. Not worried about one bus route or one new lunch box. Ahh the peace. We have however been spending our days thinking of how we would like to spend our days ahead at our own school. An organized homeschool sounds nice right? Well just our books are organized. That’s all. It’s a start. But there’s an article on Organized Home (a new website I came across) that has some very helpful tips. Now if I could just stop reading about being orgainized and get up and go organize something! In the meantime, here is a picture of the fruits of my labor. Well it’s mostly the labor of my very organized friend Jen. Thank you organizing guru Jen. You have saved me many hours of nail biting and hair pulling in this closet:

We went from this:

to this:

Yes! It’s so exciting to be this organized! I spent the rest of the week going through the mountain of clothes on the other side that were too small and toys piling up and now it is a closet heaven that we could just go sit in and live.

We even have drawers:

and bins:

I know that this is going to help me get my mind in order. Hopefully now after we get our weekly routine decided on, starting after labor day will be a piece of cake and homeschooling will start out as easy and stress free as we had hoped it would! We plan to take some trips to the library and work on getting the rest of our house in order so that we can have a fresh start in a few weeks. It’s looking good!

*Update* yesterday I was talking to another mom who is getting ready for back to school and she shared with me some of the hassle she is going through. It helped me be thankful for my task ahead that does not seem so easy to me some days. She is a working mother who has 3 children in 3 different schools. One of hers is a middle schooler that is the same age as Brock. Her child starts school in the mornings after she has to be at work. She had to find somewhere for him to go in the mornings and in the afternoons. Actually, his school doesn’t end until 4:00pm and that wouldn’t  put her 11 year old son back at home until around 4:30 or 5 in the afternoon. Just enough time to do homework, change clothes, shove down some dinner, and rush off to any extracurricular activities. He’d probably get home in time to get a shower and get in bed to do it all over again the next day. Where is time for playing outside, riding his bike, talking about his day, helping out around the house, or just having down time in his room?  What about family time? What kind of life is that for him?

Homeschooling is not for everyone and not every mom is able to stay at home with her children like I am able to; or wants to for that matter and I understand that. But I am, first of all, thankful for the Lord’s calling in this direction for my family because I feel that the benefits will pay off in the end. The changes this will force our family to make are not the norm, but they are good.  And am thankful for the first friends who put the bug in my ear that  “Hey, can  you do this… especially for Brock”. Thank you guys.

