These guys are my new pals. Beauties aren’t they? Am I a runner you ask? No, not yet. But I have started running. Wow cool. Now hold on, don’t get impressed just yet. I can barely run over a minute with out stopping. Yep can’t get cocky yet. Can’t even order a subscription to runner’s world yet. It will be a slow and steady journey. I am training for a 5K race. (yes I know a whopping 3.8 miles) However, for the first time in my life, I have hope. Hope that it can be done. After reading an encouraging article about going from the “couch to a 5K”.  I said to myself,  ” hey I sit on the couch”. So I decided to have a trial ‘run’.

Ok, now how many times in in my life have I decided I will become a marathon runner, lace up my shoes, go out for a jog, and come back gasping for breath and wishing I had never set foot on that pavement and hoping the neighbors didn’t recognize me? Many times my friends.  I should have known better, but what do I know? But this time is different. It already has been these first 3 weeks. I think I have also been determined to get in better shape and take better care of my health so it’s given me permission to run before I do the dishes or run errands. I am finally seeing some progress in the time I am able to run and that is a first! Here are some tips that helped me get started.

#1 Have a plan

This is a biggie. Really. There’s lots of them out there, but this plan had the encouraging words and  has been the most helpful and the most doable to me.

http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

#2 Get some friends

Well get some shoes. If you have had your tennis shoes more than a year, sorry, need to toss them in your donation box(not the trash!!).  I started out with my 5 year old tennis shoes and I was sorry. Don’t injure yourself. My brother is in the orthopedic industry and you don’t want to go there if you can help it. I got my beauties at Sports Authority regularly $99, on clearance for $49, had a gift card + a coupon that made them a whopping $25. It can be done. Get your bargain hunting glasses on and get shopping. Now I feel like I run on clouds.

#3 Revamp your playlist

I know most of you have an ipod and what really helped me was making a 25 min playlist with a 5 min song to warm up with, then 3 songs to run/walk to, then a 5 min song to cool down with.

Do that 3 times a week then done!

If there are any seasoned runners reading this, give a shout out to the rest of us in the comments section and let us know that you are real people and you do exist. For the rest of you, maybe I’ll see ya on the streets! (or the couch)

One last thing. If you are a reader of this blog, and you like what you are reading, please don’t be afraid to leave me a comment just to say you were here and you like my posts. I get a lot of traffic but I have no idea who you are unless you leave me a comment. I would love to know who the silent stalkers are 🙂 I have so many ideas for great blog posts and will keep them coming if I think anyone cares a lick about what I have to say!

