From Lifegiving by Tammy Maltby

Psalm 23:4 says: “Even when I walk through the darkest valley, I will not be afraid, for you are close beside me. Your rod and your staff protect and comfort me.”

In my brokenness, I began to see who God really is. I began to know him as my loving Father, and I learned that in His great love, He would walk with me through my darkest valley of shame. And herein lies the profound mystery of the life giving gospel of Christ: when we mourn, repent, and die to sin, we come to see our need for total dependence on God. This dependence frees us from the devastation of sin and creates a new place that God longs to reveal to us. In this beautiful satisfying place, we have freedom over our wills and the circumstances that have held us in quiet desperations. Here we can tap into life giving waters. In Him we are forever changed and need never go back to that barren wasteland again.

