Ok, a wave of creativity has come over me, and I am taking advantage of it. I recently stumbled across a website full of fun things to do with kids and books. I have 3 book worms, but one who especially loves books and reading right now…

He will sometimes just sit down in the middle of running around to read a book! He wants to read together sometimes 3 times a day (morning, nap, and bedtime!) I decided to make some of the tot book activities and play the “games” with Jake. He loves them! There are matching cards, number cards, coloring book, sequencing cards, and I love that they all go along with the theme of a book we are reading. Here’s what I’ve made so far and am working on others:

Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What do you See?

Noah’s ark and Creation

The Very Hungry Catepillar

I also plan on doing Curious George, Frogs, Thomas the Tank, 5 Little Monkeys, and since they don’t have these two, I would like to find one on Toy Story and Clifford. (I better hurry before the crazy creativity is gone!)

The link to making some of these yourself is just a click away!

http://lapbooksbycarisa.homestead.com/TotBooksTotPacksALL.html

Bottle-top-names was another idea I saw and did this for Cole and Jake

http://1plus1plus1equals1.blogspot.com/2008/11/tools-for-tots-bottle-top-names.html

I think the tot books will keep us pretty busy for a while, but I hope to make some of these soon:

Isn’t it cute? It’s an I SPY bag. Have you ever seen the books or the games where you have a list of “treasures” to find and then look for them? This is the bag version! I think it will be so fun to look at in the car on long car rides… or short ones! This is where I found this idea: http://www.makeit-loveit.com/2009/02/eye-spy-bags.html

While we’re on the subject of books, today at the library, I discovered a little secret… the SALE shelf! I had no idea it was back there and neither do a lot of people I bet because look at all the books I got for 25 cents each!!

I came away spending $3.25 on all these. That’s less than I would spend on one book brand new! Yay!

